7 Chakras- The Top 5 Positive Psychological Qualities of the Chakras

Muladhara Chakra/ Circle of the ‘Order of the Foundation’ : Based on the World of Instinct and the Core Physical Body, the Muladhara Chakra is also the Foundational Circle of the Earth Element, the last of the manifest Elements. Stability: Without an active and balanced Muladhara, there can be no stability in the psychosomatic person, Read more about 7 Chakras- The Top 5 Positive Psychological Qualities of the Chakras[…]

7 Chakras: Part Two- the World of Brahma and the first 3 Chakras

In order to understand the first 3 Brahma Chakras or energy centres within our pyscho-somatic selves, we must first understand the concept of Brahma. Brahma, the word is made up of three parts. Like everything else in the Sanskrit language, the meaning of any word in Sanskrit is the combination of its Mantra sounds. In Read more about 7 Chakras: Part Two- the World of Brahma and the first 3 Chakras[…]

Breaking the knot of Lust

The Human mind, as per yogic traditions has 3 modes of being- the Instinctive, the Intellectual and the Intuitive. Every thought, emotion and action comes from a cognitive base dominated by one of these three, but in which the other two modes are also present to varying degrees. Lust is the instinctive version of intellectual Read more about Breaking the knot of Lust[…]

The Root Identity – The Muladhara Chakra

As per Freudian psychoanalytic theory, there is in the normal human mind the awareness of the Ego, the Id and the Super-Ego and these together make up the persons sense of identity. The Id is instinctive and is constructed of basic pleasure principles, the Super-Ego is the idealist and the ‘conscience’, whereas the Ego is Read more about The Root Identity – The Muladhara Chakra[…]

The Heart of Faith

Doubt, sans questioning is a self-destroying mechanism and eats away at the emotional Heart like a cancer. Cardiologists around the world agree that stress, or forms of stress are the single most common supporting factor for the occurrence of cardiovascular diseases. During the mental process of doubting the breathing process becomes shallow and the lung Read more about The Heart of Faith[…]

5 Elements and Mind

YOGIC PSYCHOLOGY-PART 1: INTRODUCTION Energy Is Mass. Energy is Thought. Energy is Breath. Energy is All. Universal Energy exists in 120 element types arising as combinations of the 5 basic energies or the 5 Elementals. These 5 Elementals of the Universe are termed in Yoga Pancha Mahabhuta, or the Pancha Tattva/ 5 Elementals, namely the Read more about 5 Elements and Mind[…]

7 Chakras – Introduction

THE 7 CHAKRAS- PART 1 The Primary Universal Elements are 5 and out of their 120 various types of permutations and combinations comes the Universe of objects within which we as humans are included. These 5 Primary Elements–Earth, Water, Fire, Wind and Space are reflected within the human body as the 5 major Sentient Life-forces Read more about 7 Chakras – Introduction[…]

The Pancha-Koshas / The 5 Selves   

The Five Sheaths (Koshas) Kosha, the Samskrita word signifies a cover, but as per Sandhya Bhasha, or the Twilight Language of Yoga, the word kosha, as utilized in Samkhya Yoga stands for the self. According to Samkhya Yoga, the Yoga of the Numbering, there are a number of levels down which consciousness travel. As Shakti, or Read more about The Pancha-Koshas / The 5 Selves   […]

P-TaK : Pancha Tattva Asana Kriya – Part III

Wind Element Vayu/ Wind Element: The Wind element signifies motion. Motion that fuels fire and can bring down trees. Wind is the very essence of Motion. Solar winds and the wind-storms of Jupiter are examples of the unimaginable power of the Wind Element. When we think speed, rapidity, onward movement, progress, blowing through obstacles, up, Read more about P-TaK : Pancha Tattva Asana Kriya – Part III[…]

P-TaK : Pancha Tattva Asana Kriya – Part II

In the previous article (link here), we shared knowledge on the theory of 5 elements and how they manifest in the universe and within us. Carrying forward from Earth element, in this article we explain Water and Fire element. Water Element   Ap-Jal/ Water:     Element Constantly changing and always evolving, the element that brings flexibility to the Read more about P-TaK : Pancha Tattva Asana Kriya – Part II[…]

P-TaK : Pancha Tattva Asana Kriya – Part I

P-TaK : Pancha Tattva Asana Kriya Pancha Tattva Asana Kriya or 5 Element Asana Technique is a Hatha Yoga-Asana sequence based on an ancient science of the 5 Prime Elements, the Samkhya Yoga. These elements and their consequents form, in various permutations and combinations, the entire universe and each one of us. Each of the Read more about P-TaK : Pancha Tattva Asana Kriya – Part I[…]

Yogic Learning II-Yogic Thinking

Manana -The 2nd Level The next step in the Four Step process of Yogic learning, following the first Smarana, [click here for Yogic Learning I] is Manana. The word Manana comes from the root Man in Sanskrit, meaning thought, and Manana is- to think. So, to think about what we have cognized through Smarana, is Read more about Yogic Learning II-Yogic Thinking[…]

Yogic Learning I – Learning Through Epiphany

How do we know something? And how do we know something for sure? These two things are definitely different. For example, we know that oranges are sweet, but to know for sure whether or not the orange lying on that table is sweet or not, we would have to take a bite ourselves. So knowledge Read more about Yogic Learning I – Learning Through Epiphany[…]

Sattva Rajas Tamas – Trigunas II

Sattva Rajas Tamas – Trigunas II In Part I (read here) we had touched upon the evolutes arising out of the fusion of Prakrti / Prime Nature and Purusha / Prime Consciousness.  We saw how the 5 Jnanendriyas/ Organs of Knowledge and the 5 Karmendriyas/ Organs of Action are the only ways  for us to Read more about Sattva Rajas Tamas – Trigunas II[…]

Sattva Rajas Tamas – Trigunas

Anyone doing some basic reading of Yoga theory will often come across the terms Sattva, Rajas and Tamas. Together they are called the Triguna or the 3 Prime Qualities. To know where the Triguna originate, we must look into the origin of the Universe and the human, according to Yoga, in brief: out of the Read more about Sattva Rajas Tamas – Trigunas[…]

CHITTA- The 4 Level Matrix Of The Mind

“As a human being, one has been endowed with just enough intelligence to be able to see clearly how utterly inadequate that intelligence is when confronted with what exists.” – Albert Einstein     Chitta, in Samskrit, the ancient language of Yoga, can be understood either as the entire range of consciousness, or the sub-conscious Read more about CHITTA- The 4 Level Matrix Of The Mind[…]